Visit our new website
Our new website is coming soon - you can view some of the new features by clicking the link. Check back for updates on careers, firearms and explosives licensing, crime prevention advice and more.
Visit our new website
Search Site

Leave page quickly

Chief Constable's awards ceremony sees staff and officers recognised

The bravery, service, and dedication of officers and staff from Warwickshire Police has been recognised at a special ceremony.

The Warwickshire Chief Constable's Awards evening took place at the Town Hall in Leamington on Thursday (9 May) with accolades being presented by The Lord Lieutenant of Warwickshire, Tim Cox and The High Sheriff of Warwickshire, Simon Miesegaes.

A number of officers received commendations from the force's Chief Constable, Martin Jelley QPM.

Nine officers were commended for their part in investigating a murder in Knightcote in 2017.

The work of DI Tim Sharp, DS Gareth Unett, DS Ali Knight, DC Karen Rook, DC Ed Doxey, DC Camilla Goddard, DC Marcus Franklin, PC Katie Seaber and PC Chris Batchelder led to a man being convicted of murder and sentenced to life imprisonment.

One of the force's call handlers - Michael Blake - was praised for his quick-thinking and initiative in dealing with a concern for safety incident in Stratford.

PCs Amy Deeming and Mark Jones received commendations for providing medical assistance to casualties who were trapped in a vehicle following a collision on the M6.

Also commended were Detective Constables Susan Pritchard, Justin Brown and Andy Carrington. This was for their hard work during a murder investigation in Bedworth, which led to a man being jailed for a minimum of 19 years.

DCI Andy Gough, Insp Julian Smith, DS Katie Ward, DC Ian Wright, DC Sally Harrison and DC Nick Lobo were recognised for their commitment to an investigation tackling an organised crime group across the West Midlands.

As a result, three men pleaded guilty and one was found guilty following a three week trial. They were sentenced to 21 years eight months, 20 years, 19 years and 14 years imprisonment.

Judge Sylvia de Bertodano recommended DI Paul Thompson, DS Andy Denny, DC Hazel Charlton, PSI Garrie White and PSI Annemarie Wale for commendations after their dedication and professionalism in a complex historic sexual abuse case resulted in one man being jailed for 22 years and a second sentenced to 16 years in prison.

The ceremony also saw ten of the team commended for their part in an armed incident in Stratford in December 2017.
The dedication, professionalism, and determination of DI Tim Sharp, Insp Sutherland Lane, DS Matthew Haden, DC Mark Lowndes, DC Jon Doxey, DC Imran Ghouri, PSI Holly Outhwaite, PSI Ian Shepherd, PSI Martin Cooper and Victoria McIntosh led to two individuals being sentenced to more than 20 years in prison.

The commitment and longevity of officers and staff was also celebrated during the event.

Fourteen officers each received a Police Long Service and Good Conduct medal for their long and meritorious service having joined back in 1999.

They were: PC Ken Bratley, PC James Graham, PC Tez Cottingham, PC Scott Good, PC Darren Byrne, DC Louise Brook, Sgt Tim Ivers, Sgt Simon Johnson, Sgt Joe Joyce, Sgt Jason Brotherston, DS Bruce Irving, DS Chris Harding, DI Simon Mason and DI Tim Sharp.

Three Special Constables - Vincent Pegg, Joanne Hyde and Insp David Malin - were recognised for their long service while six staff members - Daniel Warwood, Chris Tyson, Julie Longmore, Sharon Payne, Teresa Rowstron and Kathryn Smith - received Long Service Certificates.

A bespoke award was also presented to Les Buckler, who has been with the force for 50 years, having joined as a cadet in 1969. Les became a constable then a firearms officer and after retiring, rejoined as an Enquiry Officer for Judicial Services.
Paying tribute to the award winners Chief Constable Jelley QPM said: "I am incredibly proud to have been able to present these awards in recognition of the hard work and dedication of our officers and staff.

"As a force, we do everything we can to protect our communities from harm and I'm delighted to hear some of the extraordinary efforts of those who have gone above and beyond while in the line of duty."

Warwickshire's Police and Crime Commissioner Philip Seccombe added: "These awards evenings are always uplifting and inspiring occasions.

"It's very pleasing to see the hard work and dedication of officers and police staff being recognised, as well as those who have shown great courage in moments of adversity. I offer my congratulations to everyone who received an award."

For photos from the evening, scroll through the Flikr album below.

Warwickshire Police Chief Constable awards evening May 2019

Issued: 9am, Monday 13 May, Laura Maltby, Corporate Communications

Published 13/05/19